Writing competition – short story – BBC National Short Story Award

The BBC National Short Story Award 2019 with Cambridge University

Key Entry Terms and Conditions

The best 60 stories will be put forward to the judges who will be responsible for compiling a shortlist of five outstanding short stories submitted for the BBC National Short Story Award 2019

The winning award is worth £15,000

There will be four awards of £600 for the other four shortlisted stories.

Entry is free.

The Award is open to British nationals and UK residents, aged 18 years or over.

The submission deadline i s9am GMT Monday 11 March 2019

The story must not exceed 8,000 words.

No more than one story per author may be submitted.

Authors can only enter individually and not as part of a writing team.

The author must have a prior record of publication in creative writing in the United Kingdom.


Judging of the Award will be in three stages:

Stage 1: All entries will be read and judged anonymously by at least two (2) readers against the Award reading guidelines. Readers will be from a mixture of backgrounds, with literary expertise, and drawn from across the BBC and Cambridge University’s networks. A longlist of approximately the best sixty (60) stories will then be put forward to the judging panel;

Stage 2: The judging panel will read all longlisted stories and will together discuss and select a shortlist of five (5) outstanding short stories submitted for the Award;

Stage 3: The judging panel will together discuss and agree on the winning story. In reaching its decisions, the judges will adopt a preferential voting system. In the unlikely event of there being a tie, the Chairperson will have the casting vote.

4.3 Judges are encouraged to read the longlisted stories anonymously, however they are not required to do so. The whole panel will be provided with the name of the author of each longlisted story ahead of shortlisting to ensure all judges are party to the same information when making their decisions. Judges may also see the full list of stories entered to the Award and their authors, in order to call in entries which were not longlisted in stage 1, should they wish to do so.

Shortlisted writers will be contacted personally by email or by telephone.


Writing competition – short story – Bath Short Story Award

Bath Short Story Award 2019

The seventh international Bath Short Story Award is now open for entries.

Closes at midnight BST, 15th April 2019.

This year the short list judge is literary agent, Samuel Hodder, from Blake Friedmann Literary Agency.

Entrants must be 16 years or over.

Maximum length is 2,200 words. 

There is no limit to the number of entries but there is a fee of £8 for each story submitted.

Entries must not have been previously published in print or online, been broadcast or won a prize. Published online includes publication on your personal blog.


1st £1200

2nd £300

3rd £100

Local prize of £50


Writing competition – all genres – Alpine Fellowship

Alpine Fellowship

Applications close: April 1, 2019

Awarded for the best piece of writing on the topic of ‘Identity’ – the theme of the 2019 Alpine Fellowship Annual Symposium.

The winner and two runners up are invited to attend the Fjällnäs symposium.

Top Prize: £10,000 cash prize and is presented with the award by the poet John Burnside.

£3000 go to the second place

£2000 to the third place.

Key Rules:

Open to all nationalities, aged 18 and above.

All genres permitted.

A maximum of 2500 words per entry.

Limited to one entry per person. T

A longlist of 100 entries will be released on May 15th, followed by a shortlist of 25 on June 1st, and the winners on the 15th of June.


Writing Competition – short story – Aftermath

Aftermath 2.0

Entry is free
1st prize $1,000
2nd $300
3rd $100

International competition

Opens 1 February 2019
Closes 30 June 2019

The  point of the magazine is to raise awareness of the harm that we are doing to our planet and the dire consequences this will have.


Close on 30 June 2019 at 23:59 Coordinated Universal Time
It is open to anyone, from any country, of any age.
Winners will be announced in October 2019.
The story should be in digital form, Microsoft Word or PDF. This is important! Files that cannot be opened may be disqualified.
Each contestant may enter only one story.
Preferred word count between 1500 and 5000 words.
The winners will be published in the next annual contest issue of this magazine, planned for November 2019.
Stories outside the top 3 may still be published for the usual flat fee of US$25 paid by us.

Writing Competition: short story – Albedo One

Albedo One

14th International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, 2019.

The Aeon Award is a writing competition and its goals are to promote writers and writing in all the speculative fiction genres.

The contest is open to writers of all nationalities for stories of up to 10,000 words long, that are previously unpublished in English.

1st Prize is €1000 and publication in Albedo One.

2nd Prize  €200 and 3rd Prize €100 – both are published in Albedo One.

Judges, Ian Watson, Juliet E. McKenna, Priya Sharma and Michael Carroll.

Entry fee  €8.50