Writing Competition: short story – Albedo One

Albedo One

14th International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, 2019.

The Aeon Award is a writing competition and its goals are to promote writers and writing in all the speculative fiction genres.

The contest is open to writers of all nationalities for stories of up to 10,000 words long, that are previously unpublished in English.

1st Prize is €1000 and publication in Albedo One.

2nd Prize  €200 and 3rd Prize €100 – both are published in Albedo One.

Judges, Ian Watson, Juliet E. McKenna, Priya Sharma and Michael Carroll.

Entry fee  €8.50

Writing Competition – short story – Aftermath

Aftermath 2.0

Entry is free
1st prize $1,000
2nd $300
3rd $100

International competition

Opens 1 February 2019
Closes 30 June 2019

The  point of the magazine is to raise awareness of the harm that we are doing to our planet and the dire consequences this will have.


Close on 30 June 2019 at 23:59 Coordinated Universal Time
It is open to anyone, from any country, of any age.
Winners will be announced in October 2019.
The story should be in digital form, Microsoft Word or PDF. This is important! Files that cannot be opened may be disqualified.
Each contestant may enter only one story.
Preferred word count between 1500 and 5000 words.
The winners will be published in the next annual contest issue of this magazine, planned for November 2019.
Stories outside the top 3 may still be published for the usual flat fee of US$25 paid by us.

Writing competition – all genres – Alpine Fellowship

Alpine Fellowship

Applications close: April 1, 2019

Awarded for the best piece of writing on the topic of ‘Identity’ – the theme of the 2019 Alpine Fellowship Annual Symposium.

The winner and two runners up are invited to attend the Fjällnäs symposium.

Top Prize: £10,000 cash prize and is presented with the award by the poet John Burnside.

£3000 go to the second place

£2000 to the third place.

Key Rules:

Open to all nationalities, aged 18 and above.

All genres permitted.

A maximum of 2500 words per entry.

Limited to one entry per person. T

A longlist of 100 entries will be released on May 15th, followed by a shortlist of 25 on June 1st, and the winners on the 15th of June.


Writing competition – short story – Bath Short Story Award

Bath Short Story Award 2019

The seventh international Bath Short Story Award is now open for entries.

Closes at midnight BST, 15th April 2019.

This year the short list judge is literary agent, Samuel Hodder, from Blake Friedmann Literary Agency.

Entrants must be 16 years or over.

Maximum length is 2,200 words. 

There is no limit to the number of entries but there is a fee of £8 for each story submitted.

Entries must not have been previously published in print or online, been broadcast or won a prize. Published online includes publication on your personal blog.


1st £1200

2nd £300

3rd £100

Local prize of £50


Writing competition – short story – Bridport

Bridport Prize Rules of Entry 2019

All entries are judged anonymously.

Please do not include your name,
address, phone number, email, website, twitter handle etc on the document.

The deadline date for entries is 12 midnight (UK time) on 31st May 2019

•Poems: 42 lines max. No minimum. Title not included in the line
count. Dedications not included in the line count. Lines between text /
stanzas are not counted.
• Short stories: 5000 words max. No minimum, Title not included in the
word count.
• Flash fiction: 250 words max. No minimum. Title not included in the
word count.
• Novel: 8,000 words max. 5,000 words minimum from opening chapters
PLUS 300 word synopsis


The Prize is open to writers of any nationality writing in English, 16
years old and over at the time of the closing date.

Entries must be entirely the work of the entrant and by submitting you
are confirming that the work is your own.


The Bridport Prize will award the following prizes:
Poetry: 1st prize £5,000, 2nd prize £1,000, 3rd prize £500, Highly
Commended 10 x £100
Short story: 1st prize £5,000, 2nd prize £1,000, 3rd prize £500, Highly
Commended 10 x £100
Flash fiction: 1st prize £1,000, 2nd prize £500, 3rd prize £250, Highly
Commended 3 x £100
Novel award: 1st prize – £1,000 plus up to a year’s mentoring from The
Literary Consultancy through their Chapter & Verse mentoring scheme (worth
£2,340), plus a short, written report on the winning entry from the named