Writing competition – all genres – Alpine Fellowship

Alpine Fellowship

Applications close: April 1, 2019

Awarded for the best piece of writing on the topic of ‘Identity’ – the theme of the 2019 Alpine Fellowship Annual Symposium.

The winner and two runners up are invited to attend the Fjällnäs symposium.

Top Prize: £10,000 cash prize and is presented with the award by the poet John Burnside.

£3000 go to the second place

£2000 to the third place.

Key Rules:

Open to all nationalities, aged 18 and above.

All genres permitted.

A maximum of 2500 words per entry.

Limited to one entry per person. T

A longlist of 100 entries will be released on May 15th, followed by a shortlist of 25 on June 1st, and the winners on the 15th of June.


Writing competition – short story – BBC National Short Story Award

The BBC National Short Story Award 2019 with Cambridge University

Key Entry Terms and Conditions

The best 60 stories will be put forward to the judges who will be responsible for compiling a shortlist of five outstanding short stories submitted for the BBC National Short Story Award 2019

The winning award is worth £15,000

There will be four awards of £600 for the other four shortlisted stories.

Entry is free.

The Award is open to British nationals and UK residents, aged 18 years or over.

The submission deadline i s9am GMT Monday 11 March 2019

The story must not exceed 8,000 words.

No more than one story per author may be submitted.

Authors can only enter individually and not as part of a writing team.

The author must have a prior record of publication in creative writing in the United Kingdom.


Judging of the Award will be in three stages:

Stage 1: All entries will be read and judged anonymously by at least two (2) readers against the Award reading guidelines. Readers will be from a mixture of backgrounds, with literary expertise, and drawn from across the BBC and Cambridge University’s networks. A longlist of approximately the best sixty (60) stories will then be put forward to the judging panel;

Stage 2: The judging panel will read all longlisted stories and will together discuss and select a shortlist of five (5) outstanding short stories submitted for the Award;

Stage 3: The judging panel will together discuss and agree on the winning story. In reaching its decisions, the judges will adopt a preferential voting system. In the unlikely event of there being a tie, the Chairperson will have the casting vote.

4.3 Judges are encouraged to read the longlisted stories anonymously, however they are not required to do so. The whole panel will be provided with the name of the author of each longlisted story ahead of shortlisting to ensure all judges are party to the same information when making their decisions. Judges may also see the full list of stories entered to the Award and their authors, in order to call in entries which were not longlisted in stage 1, should they wish to do so.

Shortlisted writers will be contacted personally by email or by telephone.


Writing competition – short story – Colorado Review

The 2019 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction (Colorado Review):

Top Prize: $2,000 

Judge: Joan Silber

Entry fee: is $15 

Short stories must be previously unpublished.
There are no theme restrictions, but stories must be at least 10 pages (or 2500 words) but no more than 50 pages (12,500 words).

Deadline is the postmark of March 14, 2019.

Winner will be announced by mid-June 2019.

The fee to enter online is $17 ($2 goes to the good people at Submittable).


Writing competition – short story – Go Architecture

Architecture of Power Short Story Contest

Write a short story that puts into narrative how architecture affects the lives of people in power and those on the fringes of society.

Fee: $24.99

Submissions must be 1,500 words or fewer
Submissions must be in English

Open to international entries

Deadline: February 28th 11:59PM PST

Winner awarded: March 31st