Writing competition – all genres – Alpine Fellowship

Alpine Fellowship

Applications close: April 1, 2019

Awarded for the best piece of writing on the topic of ‘Identity’ – the theme of the 2019 Alpine Fellowship Annual Symposium.

The winner and two runners up are invited to attend the Fjällnäs symposium.

Top Prize: £10,000 cash prize and is presented with the award by the poet John Burnside.

£3000 go to the second place

£2000 to the third place.

Key Rules:

Open to all nationalities, aged 18 and above.

All genres permitted.

A maximum of 2500 words per entry.

Limited to one entry per person. T

A longlist of 100 entries will be released on May 15th, followed by a shortlist of 25 on June 1st, and the winners on the 15th of June.


Writing Competitions – Faulkner Society

The William Faulkner – William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition 

Deadline: May 1, 2019.

Divisions of the Competition

Category One – Novel/Book Length Fiction – Prize: $7,500

Funded annually by private donors. Requirements: an original novel, previously unpublished. The Society places a word limit of 125,000 words on books within the single entry fee of $45. Writers who wish to submit books of up to 125,000 to 200,000 words must pay a $100 fee. Novels of 200,000 words or more require a $200 fee.

Category Two – Non-Fiction Book-Prize: $2,000.00

The prize will be funded annually by private donors. Requirements: limited to 75,000 words within the limit of a $45 entry fee. Entries over 75,000 words require an entry fee of $75. Entries of more than 100,000 carry a fee of $100; more than 150,000 require a $125 fee; entries of 225,000 words or more carry a fee of $200. Requirements: an original work of creative non-fiction, including non-fiction novels, histories, memoirs, and biographies.

Category Three – Novella – Prize: $1,500.00

The Novella Prize is funded annually by private donors. Requirements: a short work of original fiction, previously unpublished. $40 entry fee. Works of fiction limited to 25,000 words will be accepted in the novella category.

Category Four – Short Story – Prize: $1,500

The Short Story Prize is funded by private foundations and individuals. Requirements: a short work of fiction of less than 10,000 words. $35 entry fee.

Category Five – Novel-in-Progress – Prize: $1,500

This award, created and originally funded by Edgar winner Julie Smith in memory of the late Evans Harrington Grant, a creative writing professor at the University of Mississippi, is now funded by other private individuals. Requirements: highly polished one-page synopsis, and first few chapters or first 25 pages. Entry must not exceed 7,500 words, including the one-page synopsis. Entries may be any form of novel, including literary, mainstream, or genre. $40 entry fee. Entries exceeding 7,500 words will not be accepted.

Category Six – Essay – Prize:  $1,000

The Shelby Foote Essay Prize is funded annually by private donors. Entry fee is $35. Requirements: original work of creative non-fiction. Essay must not exceed 2,500 words.

Category Seven – Poetry – Prize:  $1,000

The Marble Faun Prize for Poetry, created by Adelaide Wisdom Benjamin, is now funded annually by New Orleanian David Speights in memory of his late wife, Marti Speights, who was a member of the Faulkner Society’s Advisory Council. Requirements: single poem of not more than 750 words. NEW REDUCED entry fee: $15.

Category Seven – Poetry Collection Prize:
Publication of Collection and $1,000 Cash Prize

The winner of the Poetry Collection Prize will be published by New Orleans based Lavender Ink. The special guidelines for this category are as follows:

—Manuscripts are to be a minimum of 50 pages to a maximum of 80 pages of original poetry. Poems are to be linked by overall theme or setting.
—Manuscript pages are to be numbered.
—Please include a table of contents.
—Please use a standard, easy-to-read font such as Book Antiqua or Georgia in twelve-point size.
—Poems included in the submission may have appeared previously in magazines or anthologies but may not have been previously published in a book-length collection of the author’s own work.
—Authors may submit more than one manuscript to the competition for consideration as long as no material is duplicated between submissions.
—Each submission will require a separate entry fee of $35.
—Manuscripts under consideration for this competition may be submitted elsewhere at the same time. Please withdraw your manuscript if it is accepted by for publication elsewhere and is no longer to be considered for The Marble Faun Prize of the William Faulkner – William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition.

Category Eight – Short Story by a High School Student
Prize, $750; Sponsoring Teacher, $250

A prize of $750 is awarded to the winning student; $250 is awarded to the sponsoring teacher. The Hartwig Moss Prize is funded annually by the children of the late Mr. and Mrs. Hartwig Moss, IV in their memory.  Requirements: original work of fiction of less than 2,500 words. Entries must have sponsoring teacher or school, preferably both. $10 entry fee to be paid by school or, in case of home-schooled students, by teacher.

Who Can Enter?

The William Faulkner – William Wisdom Competition is open to all writers anywhere working in the English language.

Manuscript Requirements

  • All manuscripts entered must be unpublished works of fiction, non-fiction or poetry as of postmarked date of entry.


Writing Competition – Essay – Winning Writers

Tom Howard/John H. Reid Fiction & Essay Contest

For this contest, a story is any short work of fiction, and an essay is any short work of nonfiction.

Deadline: April 30, 2019.

Judge: Dennis Norris II, assisted by Lauren Singer Ledoux.

Fee: $20 per entry.


STORY: First Prize, $2,000
ESSAY: First Prize, $2,000

Length limit: 6,000 words maximum.

The top two winners will also receive one-year gift certificates from our co-sponsor, Duotrope (a $50 value)
10 Honorable Mentions will receive $100 each (any category)
Top 12 entries published online


Writing Competition – Essay – KSP

The KSP Foundation and Wild Weeds Press

Open to Australian residents and citizens only

Deadline:5.00pm AWST Friday 22 February 2019

Shortlisted authors will be notified in June/July 2019

Awards will be announced at the anthology competition book launch on Sunday 6 October 2019

Fee: $10

Fiction; *Non-Fiction; Poetry

*Non-fiction can include memoir, essay, and creative non-fiction

Word count: FICTION & NON-FICTION: Max 3,500 words

Word count: POETRY: Max 50 lines

Prize: $100 prize, plus publication of work and copy of anthology

Non-Fiction & Fiction Sections Judge: Nathan Hobby

​Poetry Section Judge: Shey Marque